Day 1 - 15 May


  • Registrations and lunch



  • What ingredients for Europe’s energy future?

    Introduced by street interviews.

    Kick-off: From today to 2050 – Smart Network for Energy Transition Platform view Konstantin Staschus (Vice-Chair, ETIP SNET) and Nikos Hatziargyriou (President, ETIP SNET; Chairman of the Board & CEO, HEDNO)

    Presentation by Michael Walsh (Managing Director Europe, SmartWires), followed by panel discussion with:

    Garrett Blaney (Chairman BoR, ACER; President, CEER), Monika De Volder (Senior Economic Officer, BEUC), Frauke Thies (Executive Director, smartEn), Kristian Ruby (Secretary General, EURELECTRIC) & Michael Walsh (Managing Director Europe, SmartWires)

    Moderated by Adam Malik (Founder & CEO, Engerati)

    Closing and invitation to split for the parallel sessions by Remy Denos (Policy Officer, DG ENER, European Commission): Horizon 2020 Research and Innovation Programme: preparing new low carbon technologies and services for EU future energy networks


  • break

    Coffee break




  • Dinner

Day 2 - 16 May

08.30 - 09.00

  • Welcome coffee


  • Opening

    Opening Innovation for the Twenties and Beyond

    João Torres (Vice-chairman, EDSO for Smart Grids)

    Bente Hagem (Chair of the Board, ENTSO-E)

    Patrick Child (Deputy Director General DG Research, European Commission)


  • Framework for innovation for the next decade

    Pannel discussion with:

    Mark Van Stiphout (Deputy Head of Unit for Innovation, DG ENER, European Commission), Robert Heiliger (Business Development Energy networks, E.ON), Guido Guida (Chair of the Research, Development and Innovation Committee, ENTSO-E), Luciano Martini (Co-lead, Mission Innovation), Nils Rokke (Chairman, European Energy Research Alliance)

    Moderated by Sonja van Renssen (Co-Founder & editor, Energy Post)

    Closing and invitation to split for the parallel sessions by Mark Van Stiphout (Deputy Head of Unit for Innovation, DG ENER, European Commission)


  • break

    Coffee break


  • Parallel session

    Digitalization (Salle M)

    Panel discussion with external speaker and 4 innovation projects

    Angus Paxton (Principal, Pöyry Management Consulting)

    Flexiciency - Christina Svalstedt (Senior Business Developer, Vattenfall)

    InteGRIDy - Juan Rico (Deputy Head of Energy Sector, Atos Research & Innovation)

    TDX-assist - Gareth Taylor (Professor, Smart Power Networks Theme Lead, Institute of Energy Futures – Brunel University London)

    SUCCESS - Catalin Chimirel (Technical Director, CRE)

    Jointly moderated by Joachim Schneider (Bereichsvorstand Technology & Operations (G&I), Innogy SE; Vice-Chair, EDSO for Smart Grids) & Cristina Gomez Simon (Senior R&D & Innovation Advisor, ENTSO-E)

  • Parallel session

    Customers in the focus (Studio)

    Panel discussion with external speaker + 4 innovative projects

    Berfu Ünal (Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Groningen)

    InteGrid - Pedro Godinho Matos (Business Development Manager, EDP Distribuição)

    RESERVE - Mihai Paun (Vice-President EU Programmes and Projects Manager, CRE)

    Estfeed - Kaija Valdmaa (Project Manager, Elering)

    PEAKapp - Valeriya Azarova (Research Fellow, Energy Institut, Johannes Kepler University)

    Jointly moderated by Paulo Libano Monteiro (Director Technology & Innovation, EDP Distribuição; Vice-Chair EDSO Technology Committee) & Guido Guida (Chair of the Research, Development and Innovation Committee, ENTSO-E)


  • Lunch

    Lunch break


  • Start-ups speeding up the energy transition

    Diego Pavia (Co-founder and CEO, InnoEnergy), Bruno Lajoie (Co-founder, Tomorrow); Arjan Wargers (Manager Innovation and Development Electric Mobility,

    Moderated by Leonardo Meeus (Professor, Vlerick Business School and Florence School of Regulation)

    Power Networks Europe 2018 Award Susanne Nies (Strategy & Communications Manager, ENTSO-E) and Pierre Mallet (Director R&D and Innovation, Enedis)



  • 10 innovation points for Energy Union

    Presentation of 10 innovation points by Laurent Schmitt (Secretary General, ENTSO-E) and Roberto Zangrandi (Secretary General, EDSO for Smart Grids)

    Answer to the 10 innovation points by European Commission’s ETIP SNET responsible Remy Denos (Policy Officer, DG ENER, European Commission)